My Publics

Standard

“My publics”. It is an interesting title. The word my, being a form of possession, next to the word publics, pertaining to a population, or community. The two specific words don’t seem to go together until you begin to think about how we relate to others, the way in which other people view us personally, and the way that we are able to somewhat “broadcast” ourselves.

When I think about the different publics that I am a part of, several things come to my mind. The first public that I think of is facebook. This is a networking tool that I have been using since I was in high school. Without facebook being a part of my life, I would not be in contact with several people. I am able to be in contact with people that I attended elementary school with. I am able to know what is going on in their personal life, and I am able to feel connected to them in what feels like a very personal way.

Because I am originally from Ohio, facebook allows me to be in contact with all of my friends and family from the north. Although I do not have a lot of extra time to individually call each of my close friends and catch up on what is going on in their lives, I am able to communicate with them via facebook, and other online communication tools.

Another public in which I am able to communicate to others through is blogging. I began my first blog at blogspot.com when I was 18 years old. I am now 21 years old and continue to blog. I created my first blog during my internship with Master Commission. This blog was focused on missions, and my heart for the church. I was able to post pictures and talk about the amazing things that God was doing in my life. This was a great tool that I enjoyed using as a means to stay in touch with, primarily, my mom and dad. The second blog that I created was also through blogspot, but was for my introduction to literature class at Southeastern University. Although it was a project for the class, I felt like I was able to publish posts that could inspire others to live for something more and to dream bigger. If I was able to encourage even one person through my blog, it would be worth it.

Another public in which I have taken advantage of is twitter. I used my twitter account primarily when I was doing my internship. It was a way in which I was able to communicate with the other interns throughout the program. I enjoyed the networking that it provided and the ability to virtually always be in contact with people that were across the country.

Technology is such a wonderful thing. The fact that I can be in contact with someone who is across the world with one click of a mouse is unreal. I am learning to take advantage of all of the technology that we have been given and use it to benefit myself in as many ways possible. This will take time and effort, but I believe that it will be worth it in the future.

About relating2thepublic

I am 21 years old and attend Southeastern University where I am pursuing my degree in journalism and public relations. I have many dreams and passions and I have decided to begin taking action now in accomplishing these dreams. I believe that everyone can be great, but they must persevere through struggles. I hope that my blog is an encouragement to you!

Leave a Reply

