Grammar Girl on abbreviations

Standard

The more you learn, the easier it is to forget rules that seem small or simple along the way. I find this to be especially true when it comes to grammar and writing.

The Grammar Girl that I chose to read today talked about the difference in abbreviations, acronyms, and initialisms. This is something that is pretty basic in writing, but is important to make sure that you have all the rules about each thing straight in your head. I liked how she clarified the difference in how initialisms are made up of the first letters of the words, but do not actually make up words themselves. Then she  explained how acronyms are also made up of the first letters of each word, but they make up actual words that can be pronounced.

What surprised me about this article was the fact that there is no actual rule of thumb to use when you are putting periods behind an acronym or initial. This seems odd to me, because I feel like there should be a rule for virtually everything. Grammar girl said that some publications do put periods after each letter, and some don’t because the fact that the letter is capitalized implies the period. I believe I remember learning about this when I was in elementary english, but it is good to review, because there are so many rules, it is easy to forget some.  

This article was very helpful as I distinguish the difference between different abbreviations, and learn how to pronounce different ones. I was able to review different rules that I was taught years ago, but have easily forgotten as time has gone on. This was an easy, enjoyable program to learn from as well.  Although this was a short episode, the little tips will help me in my writing in the future!

 

Grammar Girl on abbreviations

About relating2thepublic

I am 21 years old and attend Southeastern University where I am pursuing my degree in journalism and public relations. I have many dreams and passions and I have decided to begin taking action now in accomplishing these dreams. I believe that everyone can be great, but they must persevere through struggles. I hope that my blog is an encouragement to you!

Leave a Reply

