Why do you watch the superbowl?

Standard

2010 Doritos Super Bowl Commerical

The week of the super bowl people always begin talking. Who’s going to win? Why do you like THEM? Millions of people order pizza, pick up wings, invite people over, and settle in to watch a good game. But the question that people asked me the most is, do you watch the super bowl for the game or for the commercials? I love the super bowl. I don’t love watching football games, and my favorite team is NEVER in the super bowl. But what I do love is, watching the commercials, and going to parties. So during the super bowl 2010, what do you think was the best commercial?

I loved the Superbowl commercials this year. However, my all time favorite commercial during the super bowl were the Doritos commercials. I think that all the Doritos commercials were really great, but my favorite one was the one where they were at a funeral and the guy that was supposedly dead was in the casket watching the game and eating Doritos. He was munching away. Outside his friends and family were crying and mourning his death. Suddenly, he got excited about the game and the casket fell over and he, along with all the Doritos spilled out. His friend then stood up and said “ahhhhh” in a high-pitched voice.

To view this ad, follow this link.  Doritos commercial

The target audience for the Doritos ad, would simply be every day people who simply, eat Doritos. This affects merely everyone, at least in America.  It also attracts people who enjoy watching funny commercials, which is pretty much everyone. Another target audience for the doritos commercial could also be people who love pepsi products, because they come from the same organization. I enjoyed watching the super bowl game this year, but I especially didn’t want to miss the commercials! Until next year, we will just have to watch the good ones online!

About relating2thepublic

I am 21 years old and attend Southeastern University where I am pursuing my degree in journalism and public relations. I have many dreams and passions and I have decided to begin taking action now in accomplishing these dreams. I believe that everyone can be great, but they must persevere through struggles. I hope that my blog is an encouragement to you!

2 responses »

  1. Although I usually watch the Super Bowl for the actual game, I was very interested in the commercials just because I knew we would be discussing them in most of my communication classes, which was definitely the case.
    I also liked all of the Doritos commercials, especially the one with the little boy calling out his mom’s new boyfriend: “Don’t touch my mama and don’t touch my Doritos!” It definitely made me laugh. It was also exciting for SEU students to see Erwin McManus’ commercial make the final cut!
    My favorite one changes basically everyday as I re-watch them in classes. Today, my favorite was the Snickers commercial starring Betty White. I think this woman is so hilarious, especially in the movie The Proposal where she plays Ryan Reynolds’ crazy grandmother.
    Unlike most people, I thought the commercials were very entertaining this year!

  2. Pingback: COMM 2322 – Blog Comments « New Beginnings

Leave a Reply

