The Lead Lab reflection

Standard

While doing the lead lab last week I learned a lot about how to write a press release. I have never written a press release, so the style of writing was a little bit new to me. However, I have taken journalism class already, so I already knew the importance of the lead. While completing the lead lab I learned different things that make a press release publishable. If I am going to put my time and effort into something, I want it to be good, I want it to be publishable. This is why the lead lab was a good thing to complete.

This is my first public relations class, therefore I am still learning the best way to write a lead to a story, or to a news release. However, I have learned the importance in including all of the important information about the event in the first paragraph. This include the where, why, what, when, and how. It is important to first state all of this information so that the reader is clear on what is going to happen.

What surprised me while I was taking the course in the lead lab was how simple it really is to write a press release. I think that I try to complicate things too much. I found through taking this course, and my journalism class, that the simpler it is, the better. This is because journalism is supposed to get straight to the point. People want to be able to find out the news that they are looking for, and find it quickly. This is an important thing to remember as a public relations professional.

What I would like to look into more is just reading through different styles of press releases, and seeing which one suits me the best. Because every kind of writing is so different, it is important to understand the correct style to use when you are writing a press release. I would like to see different examples, so that I can improve my writing. I think that I can only improve by seeing other examples of this type of writing.  

News U

About relating2thepublic

I am 21 years old and attend Southeastern University where I am pursuing my degree in journalism and public relations. I have many dreams and passions and I have decided to begin taking action now in accomplishing these dreams. I believe that everyone can be great, but they must persevere through struggles. I hope that my blog is an encouragement to you!

Leave a Reply

