Palette Public Relations Inc.: Spotlight on Co-founder, Martin Waxman

Standard

It was such an honor to be able to learn and hear from Martin Waxman, the cofounder of Palette Public Relations Inc. Thank you for your time Martin!

While listening to Mr. Waxman’s interview with Barbara Nixon I learned the importance of having a standard in which your company is run by, and that one of the most important things in an organization, especially a public relations organization, is to have integrity in all that you do.

I learned that the way in which our culture is going, all over the country, and even the world people are learning the importance of technology within businesses. Businesses are embracing twitter and Facebook, and all kinds of social networking outlets and using them to their advantage. This is a huge thing that is changing the way that businesses are operated. This is why it is so important to learn the importance of this now.

Something that surprised me was the different things that professionals are looking for in students when they are applying and interviewing for jobs. He said that it is important that you have a foundational knowledge of how traditional media works. He says that the traditional things are not going away as much as people think. Although they are somewhat changing, they are still integrated in the profession.

He also said that you should have an understanding of how social media works. Preferably, you should have a blog, but if you don’t he says that they want to see that you are following PR professionals and learning from them by reading their blogs. He wants you to know what some people are about. He also looks for people who use twitter. He says that you don’t have to be outrageously active with twitter, but to use it to your advantage.

While listening to this interview I would have liked to know a little more about what he does on a daily basis in his job, however it was a great interview, and was very informative. I especially loved the advice on interviewing and what I can do now to improve myself for the future!

Thank you Barbara Nixon and Thank you Martin Waxman for your time!

About relating2thepublic

I am 21 years old and attend Southeastern University where I am pursuing my degree in journalism and public relations. I have many dreams and passions and I have decided to begin taking action now in accomplishing these dreams. I believe that everyone can be great, but they must persevere through struggles. I hope that my blog is an encouragement to you!

Leave a Reply

