Response to Interview with Kneale Mann

Standard

Something that I learned while watching this interview is that social networking has been around for many years, the sources just keep changing. Different websites and different mediums have changed, but the fact that people social networking, has not changed. Something else that I learned is the importance of validation from other human beings. Kneale related this to commenting on other people’s blogs. I learned that we should comment on other blogs so that we are contributing to their blogs. Something else that I learned was the importance in spending time with other professionals and speaking with others, because you are able to learn from them and share information with them. You should also pay attention to the books that you read, and the circle of influence that you are involved in, because it will pay off in the long run.

Something that surprised me about his interview was that he had never even thought about writing a blog until he talked to someone who recommended writing his own blog. Just like many people, Kneale felt like no one would want to read his blog. This is how a lot of people feel. I know that I personally have felt like no one is reading different things that I write. However, you never know who is watching, and that is something that I learned. I think that it encouraging to know that there are people out there that are professionals that sometimes even have the same fears and frustrations as I do.

Something that I would like to know more about is who exactly Kneale Mann is. I would like to know who it is that he works for and what his career is within public relations. I like to know this because it allows me to feel like I am connecting to him as a person in a deeper way. I also like to know different ways that I can someday use my degree within public relations.

About relating2thepublic

I am 21 years old and attend Southeastern University where I am pursuing my degree in journalism and public relations. I have many dreams and passions and I have decided to begin taking action now in accomplishing these dreams. I believe that everyone can be great, but they must persevere through struggles. I hope that my blog is an encouragement to you!

One response »

  1. Hey there! I wanted to say hi to you personally, but you didn’t post your name. At the core of what I refer to as the four pillars – public relations, marketing, communications and social media – are people. We don’t connect to things or brands, we connect to people. My suggestion – put the author’s name of each post in this space. Be proud that you are finding your voice and sharing your content. That is a gift.

    I found this because of Google Alerts – which I think I suggested when I spoke with Barbara. If you want a daily update of any word or name, put on an alert and get them emailed to you. If I had not, I would not have found this and thanks for writing it!

    I have been in marketing and media for 26 years and my blog One Mann’s Opinion was not the first published material I had done. I just felt that a blog should be somewhat personal – hence the title. I have an opinion; hopefully my readers don’t find me opinionated.

    My company is YouIntergrate where I consult small to medium sized private sector clients on everything from overall business, marketing and social media strategy.

    I am also an consultant at the Centre of Excellence for Public Sector Marketing (CEPSM). Some of my Canadian government clients include Public Safety Canada, HRSDC, Museum of Nature, Working in Canada and Ontario 211.

    I enjoy going back and forth between private and public sector – it gives me a very good snapshot for both.

    Other activies include helping non-profit associations such as TEDx Ottawa, United Way and Habitat for Humanity. And in my spare time I speak at conferences and host workshops.

    Feel free to read more here: http://www.linkedin.com/in/knealemann

    But enough about me – let’s talk about you – keep writing!

    @knealemann

Leave a Reply

