Jeff Houck at Southeastern

Standard

Jeff Houck visited our class this week to talk about Public Relations in the social media.

He shared several wonderful tips that encouraged me and will help me in my future in public relations.

One thing that stood out to me in his presentation is the importance of meeting people in person. A firm hand shake can make a world of difference. Social networking is wonderful, but if you are not able to communicate in person, then you will be in trouble. Another thing that he shared was not to send anything with an embargo date.

“Don’t sell me your product, sell me your story.” I can’t imagine how annoyed he must get when people are trying to get him to buy their product. 

He also spoke about putting something catchy in the subject line of an email. This stirs his curiosity and causes him to want to read the entire email.

Lastly, be TIMELY!!! Submit your information on time, and don’t be late.

About relating2thepublic

I am 21 years old and attend Southeastern University where I am pursuing my degree in journalism and public relations. I have many dreams and passions and I have decided to begin taking action now in accomplishing these dreams. I believe that everyone can be great, but they must persevere through struggles. I hope that my blog is an encouragement to you!

One response »

  1. I agree with you about meeting people online and meeting them in public. When meeting a person in public you have that opportunity to engage that person face to face and on a computer you cannot do that. I think there are some advantages to using the computer to interact with people, but I think that it is usually better to meet the person face to face because you get to hear the tone of their voice and you can read their body language.

Leave a Reply

