Multimedia Storytelling– the ins and outs

Standard

Source: NewsU

While taking the NewsU course on Multimedia Storytelling, I learned a lot about the media aspect within news and storytelling. I know how to use technology, and I can usually figure things out pretty easily, but I am not as good at different programs as I would like to be, so this course was helpful in that regard.

Through taking this course I learned that there are certain stories that are actually better to use when creating a multimedia presentation. I also learned the importance of being organized while deciphering what to created the story on. The NewsU course suggests that you make a storyboard to help get all of your thoughts on paper and organized as well. I learned that in creating a storyboard you should define the elements, identify the media, and storyboard the concept. Listing the resources that you use will also help you as you create a finished product.

Something that surprised me a little bit while taking this course was the change that should take place in a piece if it is going on the web. I learned that you should keep the videos short, and only submit videos that have high quality sound. I also felt like it really makes sense to use a lot of visuals and pictures online because it is a visual medium.

Something that I would like to know more about is how to create multimedia presentations… in detail. This was a very good presentation, but I really think that I would enjoy knowing more about this. I would also like to know the effect that multimedia storytelling. With the way that media is going, I am sure that multimedia storytelling is having a large impact on the society, and is providing an outlet for more people to hear about more things, in a faster manner.

About relating2thepublic

I am 21 years old and attend Southeastern University where I am pursuing my degree in journalism and public relations. I have many dreams and passions and I have decided to begin taking action now in accomplishing these dreams. I believe that everyone can be great, but they must persevere through struggles. I hope that my blog is an encouragement to you!

2 responses »

  1. This is pretty helpful when thinking how to go about a story for a journalist. For a public relations professional, you can tailor your deliveries in a manner that will make the journalist’s job a lot easier. It’s comes to my attention that in all storytelling you are going to have a basic structure to allow it to flow. When you look up writing novels, film scripts, plays, etc. that structure exists, and that is having a clear beginning, middle and end. The same goes for multimedia storytelling, you have these extraneous materials (images, video, audio), but they are there to enhance the story and must have a purpose. The NewsU courses offered are great starting points to learn and consider the basics of the subjects given.

  2. Pingback: Blog Comments « Ecologne's Blog

Leave a Reply

