Top 10 Things to remember when Blogging

Standard

This is the second class that I have been assigned to complete a weekly blog. Through this experience I have learned how blogs can benefit a person within the field of public relations with social networking. I have also learned a lot about how to run a blog, and how to get people to leave beneficial comments on your blog, bringing more traffic to your site. I have comprised a list of the top 10 things that I would recommend to other students that have been given the assignment to blog for their class.

10. Stay on top of the blog. Don’t miss a week here or there. Get used to blogging every week. Include it into your schedule somehow. Missing a weekly blog will cost you, and it will cause you to be behind when the craziness of the end of the semester gets here

9. Check your grammar. Make sure you do not have grammatical mistakes. Read through your blog at least once before you post it.

8. Proofread. Proofread your blog and make sure that it makes sense. Sometimes things that are thought up in your mind do not make much sense when typed out. It may even be a good idea to read your blog out loud. This helps you get a feel for what others are reading.

7. Comment. Comment on other peoples blogs. This is one of the easiest ways to get people to read your blog. They will simply click on the link.

6. Create Beneficial comments. Make sure that your comments are beneficial. Make sure that they are worth the other persons time to read.

5. Do not bash other blogs. Stay positive. When you talk bad about other people, whether it is on your blog, or on their blog, it just makes you look bad. Don’t do it.

4. Spend time on it. Anything that you spend time on, looks like effort has been put forth. Spend time on your blog, make it high quality work. People will notice.

3. Make sure your blog is easy-to-read format. Look at your blog and make sure that you can read it easily. If the background makes it hard to read, you may want to consider changing it.

2. Make categories. Categories make it easy for you to tell the different areas that you have blogged in. This makes your blog more organized and easier to read.

1. Have fun! Enjoy writing your blog. Be creative with different posts and with different titles. It will make your blog stick out from the others.

About relating2thepublic

I am 21 years old and attend Southeastern University where I am pursuing my degree in journalism and public relations. I have many dreams and passions and I have decided to begin taking action now in accomplishing these dreams. I believe that everyone can be great, but they must persevere through struggles. I hope that my blog is an encouragement to you!

11 responses »

  1. I think you came up with a great list for current and future bloggers to follow who are looking to make their site a successful one. One really important tip you gave was to comment on other blogs. When you comment on other blogs it shows that you care about what the author has to say. It is human nature for that other person to return the favor, and check out your blog. At first I was discouraged when I started blogging and my stat box revealed that I didn’t have any viewers. When I started commenting, however, I put my name out there and began to gain an audience. The most important thing you pointed out was to have fun with the blog. It is vital to write about something you are passionate about. This not only keeps you writing, but also keeps you posting interesting content for your viewers.

  2. Pingback: COMM 2322 – Blog Comments « New Beginnings

  3. I agree with all of these tips! You gave some really good advice for people who are just starting out blogging, or people who have been blogging but just want to improve it. Blogging is just like any other kind of writing which means it is vital to proofread. I agree that sometimes when writing, it is easy to put down something that makes sense in your own mind but would look weird to someone else. Although it does take a little bit of extra time, correcting a few mistakes can probably sometimes make or break credibility amongst other people.

  4. Pingback: Comment List: « Mallory Boulware

  5. I thought that this blog post was super helpful, thanks Mikelle! I never thought that blogging could be so important but I’ve came to realize otherwise this semester. One of the things that I found to be important is that it allows you to stay connected with so many people and learn advice from other professionals. I am going to try and continue blogging throughout the summer. I have actually started to enjoy it! As they say the more you write the better at it you become. Thanks again for the top ten list; it will be good to refer back to as I continue my blogging.

  6. Pingback: Comments « Tara's Tidbits

  7. I think you’ve created a great list! I realized throughout the semester that blogging is important. Before this year, I had never used a blog or even wanted to create a blog. However, I have started to like writing and I’m learning to enjoy the opportunity I’ve been given to make connections and work on my writing skills. I’ll be honest though that sometimes I slack off when writing and don’t always pay attention, but then I remember how important it is to make sure I’ve spelling things correctly and my grammar is right. Staying on top of the blog writing is difficult only if you forget to write on it. I think that if you put your mind to it, it shouldn’t be that hard to do. I think with your list, it will be really easy for people to know what to write for their blogs and how to maintain them. Thanks!!

  8. Pingback: Blog Comments for COMM 2322 « Exploring the World Around

  9. This is a great list, Mikelle! I definitely agree with all the items on the list. Before I started blogging this semester, it would have been really helpful to have read something like this! I think your list definitely will help any student that is preparing to venture into the world of blogging. I like how you stressed the importance of blog comments so much – I think this is the best way for students to use blogs to meet people and create important connections.

  10. These are really great suggestions. The only one I think I have trouble with now is keeping up with my blog. I know it sounds cliché, but I feel like I have so much to do, and I’m so busy sometimes, that I just don’t feel like I have enough time to log on and blog about something. I was wondering if you had any suggestions for this. I’ve watched your blog for a while now, and it seems like it’s always kept up to date, which is definitely great when you want to find something interesting to read.

  11. Pingback: My Comments « Megan Ginger

Leave a Reply

