PRSA Code of Ethics: A Look Inside

Standard

The PRSA stands for Public Relations Society of America, and like every organization should, they have a code of ethics that the organization values and upholds. It is important to have some sort of guidelines and standards no matter what profession you are pursuing. Customers are pursuing your company because they see integrity among your practitioners.

PRSA has The Code, which was created by the PRSA Board of Ethics and Professional standards (BEPS) and this places guidelines that are to be built on core values. PRSA states some of their core values on there website (www.prsa.org) which are: advocacy, honesty, loyalty, professional development, and objectivity structure ethical practice and interaction with clients and the public.

I was able to find the PRSA Member Code of Ethics Pledge directly on their website and it goes as follows:

I pledge:

To conduct myself professionally, with truth, accuracy, fairness, and responsibility to the public; To improve my individual competence and advance the knowledge and proficiency of the profession through continuing research and education; And to adhere to the articles of the Member Code of Ethics 2000 for the practice of public relations as adopted by the governing Assembly of the Public Relations Society of America.

I understand and accept that there is a consequence for misconduct, up to and including membership revocation.

And, I understand that those who have been or are sanctioned by a government agency or convicted in a court of law of an action that is in violation of this Code may be barred from membership or expelled from the Society.

Ethics pledge

In the Code Preamble, PRSA stresses, “ethical practice is the most important obligation of a PRSA member.” I believe that PRSA provides a very reasonable code of ethics. However if one chooses to break this code of ethics, I believe that it could be detrimental to the company. Ethics are essential in building a reputable organization, and if anyone involved in the organization fails to heed to its ethics, they will probably need to be removed.

About relating2thepublic

I am 21 years old and attend Southeastern University where I am pursuing my degree in journalism and public relations. I have many dreams and passions and I have decided to begin taking action now in accomplishing these dreams. I believe that everyone can be great, but they must persevere through struggles. I hope that my blog is an encouragement to you!

Leave a Reply

