Where do you stand?

Standard

Social Media… we seem to hear about it all the time. Especially while studying social media in primarily all of my classes, I have discovered how quickly our world is converting to a virtual world. Through texting, twitter, Facebook, blogging and other outlets, our world is certainly changing, and is becoming smaller and smaller every day. So where to you stand? Have you been swept away by social media? Do you take advantage of every network out there? Have you forgotten how to communicate with real people in the real world? Make sure you have a balance, and never forget the importance of building real relationships, in person, with real conversation. It will be relevant forever, no matter which direction technology goes.

Check out some of the advantages of Social Media by Chris Garrett HERE

About relating2thepublic

I am 21 years old and attend Southeastern University where I am pursuing my degree in journalism and public relations. I have many dreams and passions and I have decided to begin taking action now in accomplishing these dreams. I believe that everyone can be great, but they must persevere through struggles. I hope that my blog is an encouragement to you!

3 responses »

  1. This is a great observation. Some people truly are so enveloped in the world of social media that they forget how to communicate face-to-face. Personally, I find it so difficult to keep up with all the different types of social media out there. From Facebook and Twitter to other sites that I haven’t taken advantage of, such as Delicious and StumbleUpon, how do people find time to stay updated on all of their profiles? Face-to-face communication is definitely the most important to me. For example, we could have learned about portfolios through a website during our FPRA meeting on Tuesday. However, I found it so beneficial to communicate directly with the PR professionals who came to speak to us and to get a first-hand look at their personal portfolios. The presentation definitely got me more excited about PR! That’s where I stand 🙂

  2. Pingback: Blog Comments! « My Ongoing Journey

  3. I definately feel like social media has started to take over the world. So many people’s main form of communication is through social media. I feel like people are afraid to go out and meet people the old fashion way. As much as I like my Twitter and Facebook, I strongly believe that nothing can replace human communication. As I go out into the work force this December, I am going to take that to heart and in my search for a job do my best to commuincate with people one-on-one.

Leave a Reply

