Chapter 14 Public relations Consulting

Standard

“Talk low, talk slow, and don’t talk too much.” –John Wayne

Public Relations Consulting

Public relations consulting began in the early 1900’s

Ivy Lee created the first consulting firm in 1904

The public relations industry of today is completely different from what it used to be

CPRF (Council of Public Relations Firms) was formed in 1998.

Financial Management includes:

Budgeting

Agency Financial Metrics

Good financial Management

How to successfully manage relationships with your client: (page 21-23)

-Listen before talking and acting

-Know your client’s company and industry

-Be passionately supportive of the client’s product or service

-Manage expectations, deliver on promises

-Be available, respond quickly, and meet deadlines

-Lead the relationship

-Be true to your client

-Make quality your cornerstone

-Communicate often

-Bill accurately, clearly and promptly

-Watch your language

Source: Reputation Management

About relating2thepublic

I am 21 years old and attend Southeastern University where I am pursuing my degree in journalism and public relations. I have many dreams and passions and I have decided to begin taking action now in accomplishing these dreams. I believe that everyone can be great, but they must persevere through struggles. I hope that my blog is an encouragement to you!

One response »

  1. I love that you use a John Wayne quote. I don’t know where you got it but it is genius. I also think that this quote can be true. I mean you don’t want to be monotone but I hate listening to a speaker that is seemingly yelling at you. Also talk slow because if you talk to fast people will miss things. And definitely do not talk to much. After a certain amount of time, you are going to lose your audience.

Leave a Reply

