A Look Into Tara’s World

Standard

Tara Parker is a dear friend of mine that I have had the opportunity to get to know the past year as we have ventured through our Journalism and Public relations classes together. She is a graduating Senior at Southeastern University and is on her way to the professional world as she is soon to begin her career in Public Relations. She is talented on many different levels, and I have chosen to post just one of her blog posts for my Topic of the Week. She posted this on her blog back in September as she discussed the importance of commenting on others blogs. Open up your mind as you read more about the importance of blogging etiquette!

The following is written by Tara Parker:

WHY COMMENT?

One of the little things I enjoy in life is getting an unexpected or encouraging letter in the mail.  It’s that simple little gesture that lets me know that someone cares or is thinking about me.  In the same way that getting a piece of mail can make you feel a comment an essentially do the same.

Commenting on blog posts are an integral part of blogging.  It lets you know that someone is “listening” to what you have to say.  Blogging isn’t as easy as some think, often times it takes a lot of time and energy to come up with a well thought out and informative piece.  So if you never comments you would probably feel like your blog was pointless.  Comments can encourage you, challenge you and most importantly let you know that others are benefitting from something that you post.  Blog comments also give you an opportunity to network with people.  When you come across something interesting on  blog and you take the time to leave a comment it opens up the communication.  That person might be a professional in the field that you are studying and could lend you some advice.

Blogging Etiquette:

  • When writing a comment make sure to always include something positive.
  • If you use someone’s content make sure to give him/her credit.
  • If posing a question or challenging someone through a comment make sure to be polite.
  • Make sure the comment is grammatically correct, you never know who might be viewing your post.
  • A nice gesture is to comment back to people who leave you comments.

I started blogging last semester when it became an assignment in class.  I now sometimes blog in my leisure time.  One thing that motivates me most is when I know that someone is actually reading what I have to say.  So take the time to leave someone a comment next time you come across something that interest you.

Thanks so much Tara, for Sharing your wisdom. And if you haven’t done so, you should check out Tara’s blog!

About relating2thepublic

I am 21 years old and attend Southeastern University where I am pursuing my degree in journalism and public relations. I have many dreams and passions and I have decided to begin taking action now in accomplishing these dreams. I believe that everyone can be great, but they must persevere through struggles. I hope that my blog is an encouragement to you!

3 responses »

  1. Hey Mikelle, Good job using the different text color to highlight what is written by you and what is written by Tara. It helped add to the clear transition from her words to yours. I agree with Tara blog comments are important! (I’m doing it right now, ha.) It makes me feel like people are actually paying attention/ listening to what I may have to say. One thing I could probably work on is commenting back to people who have commented. I think I’ve only done that once. Comments help users be even more interactive. Well I hope this comment met all the requirements of proper “blogging etiquette”.

  2. I feel the same way when I receive a comment from someone about my post. It makes me feel like my voice is being heard in a wider spectrum. I think that some bloggers stay in their little world and don’t reach out to others via commenting. It is really important as a blogger to give good constructive criticism to others. I am glad you choose Tara as your guest blogger this week.

  3. Pingback: Comments «

Leave a Reply

