Be Informed!

Standard

The mainstream media blog that I chose to read was Scott Monty’s blog. Scott Monty has been called “an unstoppable force of nature”. Alan Mulally of Ford Motor company called Scott Monty a “visionary”. Scott is the strategic advisor for all of the social media activity that takes place across Ford Motor Company. While Scott is the head of social media for Ford Motor Company, this is his personal blog where he shares his perspective on marketing, advertising, and public relations on the web. I found that it is a very good resource for understanding what is the latest news in the world of social media.

One of the posts that I especially enjoyed while reading his blog was the post about Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn. His shorthand description for these three networking sites was

      “LinkedIn is the business meeting,

Facebook is the hallway conversation

and Twitter is the cocktail party.”  

I found this short description very simple, yet very easy to understand. That is what I like about Scott’s blog. He gets the message across in a simple, down-to-earth way. He doesn’t clog up his posts with wordy explanations, but instead states his point and explains it in a brief, yet thorough manner.

I believe that students in writing for digital media can benefit from reading this blog in a few different areas. I think that we can learn how to write our blog posts better simply by reading the way in which Scott writes. I also believe that through reading his mainstream media blog, we will have a better understanding on the latest things going on within media. He discusses brand management and the techniques that help companies protect yet promote their brand.

Because social media is so large, there is not one particular section of social media that Scott focuses on in particular. He discusses many interesting topics and touches on important aspects of social media. Check out his blog, be informed of the latest excitement, and explore this growing world of social media!

About relating2thepublic

I am 21 years old and attend Southeastern University where I am pursuing my degree in journalism and public relations. I have many dreams and passions and I have decided to begin taking action now in accomplishing these dreams. I believe that everyone can be great, but they must persevere through struggles. I hope that my blog is an encouragement to you!

Leave a Reply

