What you see is… What you get…

Standard

When a person clicks on a website and begins reading down the page the reader almost immediately starts forming opinions in his or her mind about what they are reading. Lets just face it, it’s human nature, you will do it to other people’s blogs, and others will do it to yours. So… the question to ask now is, what can I improve in my writing so that the first impression of your blog is one that you can be proud of, and one that lasts. While reading through Styleguide on yahoo, I found some really great tips.

There are 3 things that stood out to me and I hope they can help you to become a better writer:

1. Keep it short—With online writing it is best to use short paragraphs and short sentence structure. In fact, if your content allows, it may be best to focus on bullet points. This will get your point across, without soaking them with information that will not stick. This also makes your blog easier to read and appealing to the eye.

2. Highlight the most important things—When you are blogging about a majority of different things within one post, it is easy to get lost as the reader. That is why it is important that you highlight the most important items and place them towards the top of the post. Make sure they stand out, or your reader may miss out on the most important things!

3. Last, but certainly not least, delete fluff! Know one in their right mind wants to sort through your “information” otherwise known as fluff to get to the beneficial stuff. They will lose interest and click off of your site. This also takes away from your credibility, because it is difficult for the reader to differentiate between what is important and what is just filler. Just don’t do it… leave the fluff for someone else to fill themselves with!

The most important piece of advice that I can offer you as a writer is to be true to who you are. Do not forget your morals in your writing and use your gift to lift others up.

Photo credit: Gordana AM

About relating2thepublic

I am 21 years old and attend Southeastern University where I am pursuing my degree in journalism and public relations. I have many dreams and passions and I have decided to begin taking action now in accomplishing these dreams. I believe that everyone can be great, but they must persevere through struggles. I hope that my blog is an encouragement to you!

2 responses »

  1. Mikelle, I like the three tips you provided. I definitely agree with all of them. For online writing people don’t want tons of information. They want the basics or the most important information. Also, like you said, it’s good to place the most important information towards the top of the post. I know there have been times when I have scrolled down and seen an extremely long post and decided not to read any of it. LONG blog posts that seem to go on forever intimidate online readers. I think if people follow the three tips you’ve listed, they will have a better chance of getting their material read.

  2. Pingback: Creepn On My Peers « Delicious Future

Leave a Reply

