Modest is Hottest– or isn’t it?

Standard

Image Credit: Archuletafans

This past week Raw TV Southeastern University’s Nationally syndicated TV show did a panel discussion on modesty. Being raised in a Christian home and attending a Christian School for my entire life, discussions on modesty have definitely been a part of conversation on numerous occasions. Modesty is definitely an important thing to be aware of, yet at the same time is important not to obsess on and get carried away with.

The question of whether there is line that you can draw between being modest and immodest is hard to answer. Because everyone is built in different ways, it is not possible to say that a certain piece of clothing is immodest, because it will look different on everyone.

Though I think that modesty is an important thing, I believe that Christians have become legalistic in certain things. I think that modesty is rooted deep within who you are. God says that from the overflow of your heart, the mouth speaks and I think that can be applied in the way that you carry yourself and dress yourself as well. Out of the overflow of  your heart, is the way that you will dress. The way in which you present yourself is a direct reflection of who you are and ultimately, is a reflection of your hearts desires and focus.

There is nothing wrong with desiring to be loved and wanting to look nice, but I think that it is about what your focus is. Are you constantly obsessing about what you are wearing, and how you can get noticed? What do people think when they are first look at you? What are their eyes drawn to? I think that these are all questions that we can ask ourselves while getting ready for the day.

So is modest hottest? I think that hot is not a very respectful word and is somewhat degrading to women. There is a difference in being ‘hot’ and being ‘beautiful’. I think that modest is beautiful, modesty reflects something deeper, something that will last, something that is not just surfacy. Beauty comes from within and radiates outward. And I think that modesty is beauty.

About relating2thepublic

I am 21 years old and attend Southeastern University where I am pursuing my degree in journalism and public relations. I have many dreams and passions and I have decided to begin taking action now in accomplishing these dreams. I believe that everyone can be great, but they must persevere through struggles. I hope that my blog is an encouragement to you!

One response »

  1. I wish I would have been there when they filmed this episode.
    I like that your approach is not just about wearing a turtle neck in the pool but rather its the way in which you carry yourself and approach not just your wardrobe.
    Modesty does not give us rules but rather standards to which you don’t just merely “live up to” but hold each other accountable for.
    Great post!

Leave a Reply

