Beware Online

Standard

This movie was highly interesting as I realized that different organizations are doing their own sort of invisible editing of the web. I found myself stunned as I realized that Facebook and websites that are like it are actually able to see what it is that you are often clicking on and then somewhat personalize what they want you to see. He even stated that you can type in the same Google search as the person that is sitting right beside you and two entirely different lists of information and links will appear. This is very altered and presents you as a reader or researcher with skewed information.

Something else that stood out to me is that there really is not standard Google anymore. It is almost scary that there can be such a filter based on the kinds of things that you typically look at in your searches. This can majorly effect people beliefs as well as their voting status. If people simply depend on internet, Facebook and Google as their primary source of research and information, then they are probably going to be seeing a biased point of view. The sad thing is, that they do not realize that this is happening.

However, it is true that Google and Facebook are not the only sites that are doing this sort of filter bubbles within their websites. Yahoo news, one of the most influential news sites on the internet is personalized meaning that every person gets something different, something personalized, which is not really hard, real news. The internet is beginning to give us what it thinks that we want to see, and not necessarily what we need to see. The more that this is happening, the harder it is going to be for people to accept and believe things that were not perfectly tailored for them. The problem with this is that you do not see what gets filtered out and you don’t know what gets in. So it is hard to believe what information that you are getting because there is no way of knowing whether it is the whole truth or the information that everyone else is seeing.
We need the interned to connect us all together and to introduce us to new information and ideas, but it is not going to do that if it leaves us isolated in a world of one.

About relating2thepublic

I am 21 years old and attend Southeastern University where I am pursuing my degree in journalism and public relations. I have many dreams and passions and I have decided to begin taking action now in accomplishing these dreams. I believe that everyone can be great, but they must persevere through struggles. I hope that my blog is an encouragement to you!

2 responses »

  1. Yeah his video completely surprised me I ha no idea that filter bubbles were such a prominent thing. When we watched that video in class I never heard of filter bubbles. I knew that something like it existed but I ad no idea hat it was an actual concept. I agree we should be able to make our own choices and not have things filtered for us.

  2. Pingback: Comment Posts « Tiana Holding

Leave a Reply

