Future Bloggers Step On Up!

Standard

Image Credit: Robbert van der Steeg

This will be my 3rd year as a consistent blogger so I thought I would end this semester with my top 10 list of things to remember as a blogger:

10. Make sure you make your paragraphs short and sweet, it makes it more appealing to the eye, and more people will be likely to read your posts.

9. Add colors within your post. Pictures and movies are attractive to the eye and will draw readers in.

8. Make sure your tone of voice is attractive to the readers. Make it exciting.

7. Write about things that you are passionate about. Your writing will be better and you will most likely have a more powerful effect on your readers.

6. Comment! Commenting on other people’s blogs will direct them back to your blog. Plus, it is good etiquette in the blogging community to show your appreciation of other people’s posts.

5. Stay up to date on recent news and write about it. Being timely is one of the most important things in journalism

4. Grammar check! Make sure you use spell check and grammar check, and read through your posts more than once before publishing them.

3. Design! Pick a background and design that you love. Make your blog reflect your personality.

2. Pick out a creative name for your blog that will attract people to your blog.

1. Have fun! Take this opportunity to be a blessing to others and be encouraging and uplifting in your words. You could change someones life!

 

About relating2thepublic

I am 21 years old and attend Southeastern University where I am pursuing my degree in journalism and public relations. I have many dreams and passions and I have decided to begin taking action now in accomplishing these dreams. I believe that everyone can be great, but they must persevere through struggles. I hope that my blog is an encouragement to you!

4 responses »

  1. I’ve also been a consistent blogger for about three years now. I think it’s amazing how much more I know now then when I did when I first started off. I like your top 10 list! A lot of the things you mentioned, I also mentioned in my blog post where I give advice to new bloggers. I think one of the most important tips is to keep it short and sweet. A lot of bloggers don’t realize that blogging is not supposed to be the same as writing papers. There needs to be short sentences, bullet points, numbers, and even pictures and videos to add variety. I think your post will definitely help a lot of new bloggers!

  2. Pingback: Creepn On My Peers « Delicious Future

  3. I really liked all of your tips, Mikelle. I’m horrible when it comes to staying up to date with current political, economic, etc. events and it’s something that I need to work at over the next year and a half before I enter the workforce. Your tip about writing what you’re passionate about also stuck out to me. If you’re not interested in the topic you’re writing on, your readers will be able to tell and if you’re not interested, what makes you think that they will be too? One of the pointers given by a panel member at the Blogger Brilliance event I attended was to only post content when you have something to say. I think that’s an important piece of advice to consider because if you don’t follow that, the quality and impact of your content will decrease. You will also be writing just to write.

  4. Pingback: Blog Comments |

Leave a Reply

