Social Media: What I use most!

Standard

Image Credit: Unreal Web Marketing

This is an old post that has been edited:

In the past few years I have seen social media explode into a whole new world primarily focused on social networking. When I was in elementary school if someone would have said, “just shoot me a text,” I would have no idea what he or she were talking about. Even in my junior high years, texting was not very prevalent. However, now it is assumed that you are able to receive and reply to text messages. This is just one small part of social media and social networking that has exploded in the past seven or eight years.

As the time goes on, I find myself getting connected to others through social media. Every day it feels as though I am signing up to join a new website or program that is online for my classes, for networking purposes, or simply for my enjoyment. I have currently found myself participating in blogging the most. Last summer I had the opportunity to go to China as my parents adopted a little girl and throughout our entire time in China I was able to blog about our experiences. (Visit that blog at mikelleliette.wordpress.com). I believe that blogging is a wonderful way to communicate to others over long distance. I also believe that you can bless other people through what is written in your blog. What a great way to change someone’s life, or at least encourage them.

I am also a Facebook user, and I enjoy using it simply for keeping in touch with friends and family. I do enjoy podcasts, although I do not listen to them as often as I would like to. I am also a member of PRopenmic and I have had the opportunity to be in contact with several PR professionals through that website.

I also love using Twitter. It is a great way to stay connected to others and to be aware of what is happening in the world. I follow a variety of different professionals and I am able to know what is going on in their organizations that I potentially would like to work for. This is a great way to stay informed and so easy!

Another large professional networking site that I have become a part of is Linkedin. This is very important to me as I am a graduating senior this semester and am trying to make as many professional contacts as possible. Linkedin allows you to post somewhat of a resume as your profile and you are able to connect with other professionals, allowing them to view your resume. I would recommend Linkedin to al college students who are looking or will eventually be looking for a job. It is important to build up your resume and contacts as early as possible.

As I grow more educated about different opportunities in social media, I hope to expand my use of different sites. For now I hope to use the media outlets are beneficial to me and to others, creating a network that would not have otherwise happened!

About relating2thepublic

I am 21 years old and attend Southeastern University where I am pursuing my degree in journalism and public relations. I have many dreams and passions and I have decided to begin taking action now in accomplishing these dreams. I believe that everyone can be great, but they must persevere through struggles. I hope that my blog is an encouragement to you!

Leave a Reply

