Kisses From Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption

Standard

image credit: Kisses From Katie Website

This semester one of my goals is to read more throughout the semester. I am trying to spend more time with books, less time with Facebook! On top of my normal class readings, as well as my Bible reading, I want to always be reading a book for  pleasure throughout the semester. With that said, the book that I am working through right now is Kisses from Katie. At 18 years old, Katie Davis graduated from high school after taking the role as senior class president and homecoming queen. While most of her peers were picking out their dorm room decorations and getting pumped up for their new adventure to college, Katie’s heart was lost in a country across the world. She had found herself so moved by the people of Uganda after a short missions trip over Christmas break, she knew that she had to return. Against her parents will, and despite many questioning comments from friends and family, Katie packed up 2 suitcases and left her comfortable Nashville, Tennessee life and moved across the world into a whole new culture. She broke her little brothers heart, she lost many friends, and she broke up with the love of her life, just so she could serve the One who taught her how to love and the One who gave her life.

Image Credit: Google

Katie Davis intended to just spend a year in Uganda, promising her parents that she would move back to the states and go to college like a “normal” young adult. But Kate was not a normal young adult, for her passion to follow Jesus was far from normal. After several months in Uganda working as a teacher with an orphanage, she knew that God was calling her to more. She had a  deep desire to help fund children to go to school. So she took a step of faith, bought a 3 bedroom house, and started her nonprofit, Amazima Ministries. Along the way of funding children to go back to school she has taken in 13 beautiful children that now call her mommy, and is in the process of adopting all of them. Her ministry, Amazima, feeds and sends hundreds more children to school while teaching them about Jesus Christ.

Image Credit: Google Images

This book has changed not only my perspective, but my life. I have learned what it means to have faith. I have learned what it means to step outside of my comfort zone. I have been challenged to do more. I have seen that I am not too young to make a difference. I have learned to stop making excuses for myself, and start to make a difference. I have learned.

Image Credit: Google Images

If you’re not serious about doing something about the millions of starving kids across the world, then don’t pick up this book. If you’re not ready to be challenged, then don’t try to read it. If you’re not ready to fight a battle of spiritual warfare, being woken up throughout the night, then don’t read it. But if you desire to make a difference, pick it up, it will rock your world.

About relating2thepublic

I am 21 years old and attend Southeastern University where I am pursuing my degree in journalism and public relations. I have many dreams and passions and I have decided to begin taking action now in accomplishing these dreams. I believe that everyone can be great, but they must persevere through struggles. I hope that my blog is an encouragement to you!

Leave a Reply

