#PR20chat

Standard

This week I participated in my very first twitter chat. I have seen a few twitter chats take place, but I have never jumped in and taken it upon myself to be a part of one. The twitter chat that I joined was #PR20chat. It was facilitated by JGoldsborough who through out questions and then let the participates tear them apart. This chat was a good one for me to join because it took place at night, which is when I have most of my free time, so I was able to really sit down and focus in. It was a great opportunity for networking too, as there were a lot of PR professionals that contributed and I was able to connect with.

The topic of discussion focused on measurement. How do you measure success in your organization?  How do you communicate that certain tactics have been successful? What is the best way to find successful tactics? The discussion was good to be a part of and I was able to contribute to the chat as well with some of my experience from my internship. I really liked what Ann Ehnert had to say about creating organization. She tweeted, “know what I want to measure before I start tracking/creating spreadsheets #pr20chat

I contributed to the conversation by talking about some things that I learned during my internship like:

“It’s important to set deadlines and stick with them as close as possible #pr20chat

“At my internship I discovered how important it is to make a plan w/ your client. Then there is less confusion on timeliness #pr20chat

“Clients want to know what the end result will look like. How will this benefit them? #pr20chat

” I think it’s important to measure by change. What change has taken place in the organization? Don’t trust feelings alone. #pr20chat

The discussion was good, but I felt like it didn’t get as deep as I would have expected. However, I learned a lot of things that I need to work on. Something that surprised me while doing the twitter chat was how twitter chat works exactly, because I had actually never done a twitter chat. This was a really good experience for me and I hope to join in on more twitter chats in my future.

About relating2thepublic

I am 21 years old and attend Southeastern University where I am pursuing my degree in journalism and public relations. I have many dreams and passions and I have decided to begin taking action now in accomplishing these dreams. I believe that everyone can be great, but they must persevere through struggles. I hope that my blog is an encouragement to you!

One response »

  1. Thank you for sharing about your twitter chat! I have to agree with the things you contributed to the chat. I like what Ann Ehnert tweeted about knowing what to measure before tracking. I think that is extremely important in any organization or business.

Leave a Reply

