Podcasts: The Benefit of Listening

Standard

Something that I have learned from my PR Professor at Southeastern University is that it is important to be a listener. Since the day I met Barbara Nixon I have thought of her as a listener. Now, after spending 3 years watching and learning from her, I have not only seen the ‘listener’ in her, but think that I have learned to be more of a listener to others. Listening is important. When you have learned how to listen to others, you have learned a very beneficial life lesson. In our society we have learned how to Go! Go! Go! and we have lost the art and importance of being able to sit quietly and listen to others. This is what I have found to be very important in PR, but it is the hardest thing for me to do. I have listened to Podcasts off and on throughout the past several years, but often times I am working on something else while I am listening.

I think that Podcasts are very beneficial for PR majors because you can learn about important principles and hands on applications in a casual way. There are many different podcasts that discuss different issues within PR, and I think that it is just a matter of finding one that fits your preference of listening. Listening to Podcasts are also good practice for PR majors because they allow you to hear from PR professionals for free and sometimes you are even able to make a connection by finding them on Twitter or LinkedIn.

Below are some PR Podcasts that are considered the best Podcasts in Social media that you may want to try out :

SocialMedia.biz

For Immediate Release

Marketing Over Coffee

Marketing Voices

I suggest trying out a few different Podcasts and seeing which one you find most beneficial for where you are in your career right now. This is a free way to become more educated in your expertise, so why not take advantage of it? Download the podcasts, and listen to them in your car or when you are relaxing after work! It may be more beneficial than you think!

About relating2thepublic

I am 21 years old and attend Southeastern University where I am pursuing my degree in journalism and public relations. I have many dreams and passions and I have decided to begin taking action now in accomplishing these dreams. I believe that everyone can be great, but they must persevere through struggles. I hope that my blog is an encouragement to you!

Leave a Reply

